Lorna McAtear and Matt Hammond have been named as deputy chairs by the Association of Fleet Professionals (AFP), replacing outgoing deputy chair Stewart Lightbody.

McAtear is head of fleet at National Grid, and also an international CPC holder and a regular contributor at industry conferences.

Hammond is head of fleet at Altrad UK, and a national and international CPC holder.

Both are AFP board members, and also previous winners of Fleet Manager of the Year at the Business Car Awards, while Hammond has also previously won the same prize at the What Van? Awards, where McAtear has previously been highly commended.

AFP chair Paul Hollick said: “Lorna and Matt are extremely well known and respected across the fleet sector with a huge amount of expertise. We are sure they will prove important assets to our organisation in their new deputy chair roles.”

Hollick that the move to having two deputy chairs had been made in recognition of the diversity of knowledge and skills that the position demanded.

He said: “In the three years since it was created, the AFP has grown rapidly, with a large number of events, projects, committees and training courses all underway. 

“The deputy chair role is important to making sure that all of these commitments are fulfilled so it was decided that the role should be shared by two people, who are after all, volunteers.

“Stewart has done an excellent job over the last few years and we’d like to express our thanks to him for bringing great expertise and panache to the position. He remains a member of our board and a key part of the AFP.”