Euro NCAP has announced the shortlist of vans contending for the Safety Award at the What Van? Awards 2024.

The safety testing organisation, established in 1997 and backed by European governments, motoring, consumer and insurance organisations, is judging the Safety Award for the event.

The shortlist includes ten vans which are said to have made huge strides in improving safety. They have all achieved a Platinum, Gold, or Silver rating under Euro NCAP’s strict and independent safety assessment.  

For the award, vans are considered and judged for their market availability, standard vs optional fit of safety systems and value for money as well as class leading safety performance. 

The winner of the award will be announced alongside the other What Van? Awards 2024 winners during the ceremony at the Hilton, London Bankside on 6 December 2023.

Euro NCAP secretary general Dr Michiel van Ratingen said: “Equipping vehicles in the commercial sector with modern safety solutions and the latest technological developments, is a vital part to the complicated jigsaw of reaching Vision Zero and zero casualties on European roads.  How can it be that vans and trucks do not have the same technology that has been available for years on passenger cars?  

“Our collaboration with this year’s What Van? Awards 2024 on a Safety Award is just one more way how we can show committed van manufacturers our appreciation for the work they do in pushing forward van safety.  

“This is particularly admirable in the commercial market where the bottom line is the main objective and where safety is not considered as a priority.”

In alphabetical order the vans on the shortlist are as follows:

Fiat Ducato (2022)

Ford Transit (2021)

Ford Transit Courier (2023)

LEVC VN5 (2020)

Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2018)

Mercedes-Benz Vito (2014)

Nissan Primastar (2022)

Renault Trafic (2014)

Volkswagen Crafter (2017)

Volkswagen Transporter (2019)